One Month Down

So I didn’t exactly keep up my side of the bargain, but I have to be honest – this semester is pretty boring so far so there isn’t much to share. Don’t get me wrong, I have learned quite a bit and I am still very excited about what’s to come, but it will be more fun when I start the hands-on cooking classes.

I’m crossing my fingers that I can get into basic food prep for the summer so that things will pick up. However, until then I will share a few of the things I’ve learned so far.

Sanitation and safety has really made me think about the practices of the food industry and how easily someone could get sick from a food-borne illness. It’s pretty amazing that there aren’t more breakouts each year, but I guess it’s reassuring that people are handling food correctly for the most part.

My professor, Swee, is quite blunt and opinionated. For example, she said that chicken isn’t truly organic unless it’s running around outside your home and when you’re ready to eat it, you catch it and chop its head off. Picture a little Malaysian woman saying things like that – she can be quite entertaining.

I learned a little bit about franchising as well. Professor Walker of my intro class owns two Subway franchises (one is the Subway inside Presbyterian Hospital – he said they lost over 60% of sales during the Ebola outbreak). He said franchising can be lucrative, but it has its downsides as well. He also said that if he could start over, he would have invested in Chick-fil-A because it has become one of the most successful franchises. It’s only $10,000 (McDonald’s is $45,000 so yes, only) to franchise a Chick-fil-A, but there are so many applicants that it’s near to impossible to get your hands on one.

My third professor, Ben, recommended a couple of restaurants that we must try in our lifetime so I thought I could share the knowledge. He’s seems to be well-traveled and quite experienced so I trust his suggestions. First, Old Ebbitt Grill in Washington, DC. Second, Jimmy’s Food Store in Dallas. Surprisingly, I have never been to Jimmy’s Food Store, but I have heard great things about it. Let me know if you have been to either of those or decide to go try them out!

Leave a Reply

